12th Annual Excellence in Education dinner

The Rotary Club of Smith Mountain Lake held its 12th Annual Excellence in Education dinner Monday, May 8, 2017, at the Westlake County Club.  The dinner and award ceremony honored two scholarship winners and 8 local teacher of the year recipients from 7 area elementary schools and Staunton River Middle School.

Carolyn Gordon, Chair of the Club’s scholarship committee along with committee members Pidge Morgan, Dick Kenyon and Cindy DeMarco presented $1,000 SML Rotary Scholarships to Franklin County High School Senior Colton Kitzmiller in memory of Alex Ernandes.  Also presenting the scholarship to Mr. Kitzmiller was Tim Ernandes, the father of Alex. A second SML Rotary Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, was presented to Staunton River High School Senior John Kuczmarsk

Mr. Kitzmiller will be attending East Tennessee State where he plans to pursue a degree in Biology with hopes of becoming a Physicians Assistant.  Mr. Kuczmarski will be attending  Virginia Western College majoring in Civil Engineering and plans to transfer to Virginia Tech to complete his Engineering Degree.

This year’s Teacher’s of the Year, honored by SML Rotary, and chosen by their respective schools are Carrie Perry, Goodview Elementary; Jubal Poindexter; Burnt Chimney Elementary; Danielle Drake, Glade Hill Elementary; Ryan Wells, Moneta Elementary; Jesica Gawor, Windy Gap Elementary; Pilar Parry, Staunton River Middle; Lori Cooper, Dudley Elementary  and Rose Hager, Bedford Elementary.

Principals of each school introduced their school’s Teacher of the Year and highlighted some of the traits and characteristics making his or her teacher special.  Each teacher spoke about their experiences and traits they believe make a difference for their students.

Caption:  From left Rotarians Pidge Morgan, Dick Kenyon, FCHS Scholarship Winner Colton Kitzmiller, SRHS Scholarship Winner John Kuczmarski

Rotarians Carolyn Gordon and Cindy DeMarco

Caption:  From left Teachers of the Year Rose Hager, Bedford Elementary; Carrie Perry, Goodview Elementary;

Pilar Parry, Staunton River Middle; Ryan Wells, Moneta Elementary; Lori Cooper, Dudley Elementary; Jubal Poindexter,

Burnt Chimney; Jessica Gawor, Windy Gap Elementary and Danielle Drake , Glade Hill Elementary.



Speak Your Mind